top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBlair Alexander

What is my creative writing process look like?

I am like many other writers who do not follow a specific way of starting a writing project. I tend to come to get an idea of what a scene will look like. The idea can come from a random thought, a book, movie, TV show, or from simply listening to people speak while I am in my class, or even at the store. I know it's eavesdropping but at times I can not help myself but listen. You never know when a spark of an idea with hit you like a ton of bricks so I try to carry a notebook and something to write with me at all times.

I can't count the number of times I have thought of a great idea at night, at school, etc and not have a notebook or paper and something to write it down, only to later not to remember anything when I do find something to write with and on.

At times I will have no idea of why the scene is happening nor who the characters are. As I write it out a few times I will then slowly come up with a storyline that can lead up to the said scene.

From all the times I have not had my usual notebook on hand I tend to rip of pages from my school notebooks, the back of paper menus, etc. The last time I gathered them all up they were in big mess of papers all big, small and everything in between. When organizing them I try grouping the papers in terms of what story I wrote it for, labeling them at the top of the pages, and paper clipping them together. I still end up with a thick folder of papers of ideas along with piles of notebooks of other story ideas. Will I actually use any of these ideas in my future works I have no clue.

After all of that when I actually start writing a story I just throw things onto the paper or computer screen. Then figure out what scenes go where and pick out the names of the characters. The plot lines will slowly figure themselves out as I continue to write and edit. The rest of the time I will just go back and fore writing and editing the story fixing up any plotline errors, build up character personality traits and backstories.

1 view0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page