top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBlair Alexander

My Writing

Updated: Nov 17, 2020

I have been writing ever since I was in the fifth grade and had read the "Twilight" book series, Yes, I am one of those overly obsessed twilight girls. Say what you want, because I don't give a shit either way. In all honestly, I am still writing the same story I've had in my head since the fifth grade. Mind you I have been writing other stories but this one is the first one I want to get published first. I have spent mainly years calling it, "Midnight Rising" however as of recently I have named it "Midnight Secrets" as it sounded better with what was going on in the story. I had recently found some first draft pages of it and I got to say it made no sense and I was the one who wrote it. I was that newbie writer who would "info dump" the main character's life story in the first few pages then go on the describe how they looked as though they were looking in the mirror. Another thing that I've still struggled with is "white room" syndrome as well as giving some of my side characters some depth to them and not just someone mindlessly talking to move the plot forward. Now that I have been working on it ten plus years I can say it has imposed greatly. I have written a few short stories for school and even began writing other stories along the way in the hopes they get published in the future. Fingers crossed.

I remember when I began writing I would keep it hidden and never let anyone read it. I guess I was scared of criticism. Now all I want is for someone to tell me if my stories make sense to someone other than myself. Never let your family read your stories if all you want is for them to tell you how great your book is. Try finding someone who will give you great and harsh feedback, I say this even though I myself have not done that yet. Do as I say, not as I do, I guess.

Well to whoever reads this I hope you enjoyed my mindless talking about my writing and thanks for reading it. Leave a comment if you which it would be nice to someone reads this and I'm not just talking to a wall.


-Blair



0 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page